Nagaland assembly elections: 231 nominations filed


New Delhi: Amid a slow start and a boycott call, the last day of filing nominations for the Nagaland elections saw the tally rise to 231 on Wednesday, according to Election Commission data.

In the backdrop of the Core Committee of Nagaland Tribal Hohos and Civil Organisations (CCNTHCO) signing a declaration last month and appealing to political parties to refrain from participating in the election, only 22 nominations had been filed on the second last day of nomination (Tuesday).

Candidates from all the key political parties including Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Naga People’s Front (NPF), Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP ), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) as well as independents filed their nominations.

There are a total of 60 assembly constituencies across 12 districts of Nagaland. Chief minister T.R. Zeliang also filed his nomination on Wednesday. “Just finished filing my nomination for the 27th February Nagaland assembly election from 7th Peren assembly constituency,” he wrote in a Twitter post.

Apart from Nagaland, two more north-eastern states—Meghalaya and Tripura—go to the polls this month.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *